About us

The IndiSeas project is a multi-institutes collaborative effort. One or two scientific experts from each ecosystem represented have calculated the necessary indicators and provided background information and overview of the status of their ecosystem. Indicator series currently extend to 2010, but the database will be updated on a regular basis.

The indiSeas project is co-funded by IOC/UNESCO (ioc-unesco.org), the European Network of Excellence EUROCEANS (www.eur-oceans.eu), the FRB project EMIBIOS (www.emibios.org), IRD (Institut de Recherche pour le Développement, www.ird.fr) and the European MEECE project (www.meece.eu)

Scientific coordinators

Yunne-Jai Shin
IRD (Institut de Recherche pour le Développement)
UMR 212 EME (Exploited Marine Ecosystems)
Avenue Jean Monnet
CS 30171, 34203 Sète cedex, France
email: yunne-jai.shin@ird.fr

Lynne Shannon
Marine Research (MA-RE) Institute and Zoology Department
University of Cape Town
Private Bag X3
Rondebosch
Cape Town 7701, South Africa.
email: lynne.shannon@uct.ac.za

Alida Bundy
Bedford Institute of Oceanography (DFO)
Fisheries and Oceans
PO Box 1006
Dartmouth, NS B2Y 4A2
Canada
email: bundya@mar.dfo-mpo.gc.ca


Task Group leaders

Julia Blanchard
Centre for Environment, Fisheries and Aquaculture Science (Cefas)
Pakefield Road - Lowestoft
Suffolk
NR33 0HT
United Kingdom
email: julia.blanchard@cefas.co.uk

Alida Bundy
Bedford Institute of Oceanography (DFO)
Fisheries and Oceans
PO Box 1006
Dartmouth, NS B2Y 4A2
Canada
email: bundya@mar.dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Ratana Chuenpagdee
Memorial University of Newfoundland
Department of Geography
St. John’s, NL A1B 3X9
Canada
email: ratanac@mun.ca

Ben Knight
Cawthron Institute
Coastal and Freshwater Resources
Private Bag 2, Nelson, 7042
New Zealand
email: ben.knight@cawthron.org.nz

Christopher Lynam
CEFAS
Lowestoft Laboratory
NR33 0HT
United Kingdom
email: chris.lynam@cefas.co.uk

Gerjan Piet
IMARES
Part of Wageningen UR
Institute for Marine Resources and Ecosystem Studies
PO Box 68, 1970 AB IJmuiden
The Netherlands
email: gerjan.piet@wur.nl

Anthony Richardson
CSIRO Marine & Atmospheric Research
Ecosciences Precinct
GPO Box 2583
Brisbane, Queensland 4102
Australia
email: anthony.richardson@csiro.au

Marta Coll
Institute of Marine Science (CSIC)
Passeig Maritim de la Barceloneta 37-49
08003, Barcelona
Spain
email: mcoll@icm.csic.es

 

Contributors

[Picture missing] 
 
Marta Coll 
CSIC 
email: mcoll@icm.csic.es 
 
[Picture missing] Institute of Marine Science (CSIC) 

Passeig Maritim de la Barceloneta 37-49
08003, Barcelona
Spain 
  Alberto Santojanni 
ISMAR-CNR 
email: a.santojanni@ismar.cnr.it 
 
  Enrico Arneri 
ISMAR-CNR 
email: e.arneri@ismar.cnr.it 
 
Istituto di Scienze Marine (ISMAR-CNR) 

Sede di Ancona
Largo Fiera della pesca,
2-60125
Ancona
Italy 
[Picture missing] 
 
Henn Ojaveer 
EMI 
email: henn.ojaveer@ut.ee 
 
[Picture missing] University of Tartu (EMI) 
Estonian Marine Institute 

Lootsi 2a
80012 Pärnu
Estonia 
[Picture missing] 
 
Martin Lindegren 
DTU 
email: mli@aqua.dtu.dk 
 
Technical University of Denmark (DTU) (DTU) 
National Institute of Aquatic Resources 

Charlottenlund Castle
2920 Charlottenlund
Denmark 
[Picture missing] 
 
Gro I. van der Meeren, PhD, 
IMR 
email: gro.van.der.meeren@imr.no 
website
 
[Picture missing] 
 
Edda Johannesen 
IMR 
email: edda.johannesen@imr.no 
 

 

[Picture missing]

Institute of Marine Research,
PB 1870 nordnes,
NO-5817 Bergen, NORWAY

[Picture missing] 
 
Razafindrainibe Hajanirina 
SAGE 
email: hajaniry@yahoo.fr 
phone: +261 3207 82 221 
[Picture missing] Service d’Appui à la Gestion de l’Environnement (SAGE)

Lot VI 21 D Bis Villa Ranorosoa II Ambatoroka
PO Box 6080
Antananarivo 101
Madagascar 
[Picture missing] 
 
Randriamiarisoa 
PNRC 
email: miandry343@yahoo.fr 
phone: +261 32 02 211 43 
[Picture missing] Programme National de Recherche Crevettière (PNRC) 

Digue Schneider
BP 373
(401) Mahajanga
Madagascar 
[Picture missing] 
 
Marie-Joëlle Rochet 
IFREMER 
email: mjrochet@ifremer.fr 
phone: +33 2 40 37 41 21 
[Picture missing] Institut Français de Recherche pour l'Exploitation de la Mer (IFREMER) 
Département EMH (Ecologie et Modèles pour l'Halieutique) 

IFREMER,
B.P. 21105
44311 Nantes Cedex 03,
France 
[Picture missing]Didier Gascuel 
AGROCAMPUS 
email: didier.gascuel@agrocampus-ouest.fr 
phone: +33 2 23 48 55 34 
Pole Halieutique AGROCAMPUS OUEST 
65 Route de St Brieuc,
CS 84215,
35042 Rennes CEDEX,
France 

 
[Picture missing] 
 
Lynne Shannon 
MA-RE 
email: lynne.shannon@uct.ac.za 
 
[Picture missing] Marine Research (MA-RE) Institute and Zoology Department (MA-RE) 

Private Bag X3
Rondebosch
Cape Town 7701
South Africa 

 
Dawit Yemane 
DAFF 
email: dawitg@daff.gov.za 
 
Department of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries (DAFF) 
Fisheries Branch 

Private Bag X2
Roggebaai 5012
South Africa 
[Picture missing] 
 
Kerim Aydin 
AFSC 
email: kerim.aydin@noaa.gov 
phone: +1-206-526-4000 
[Picture missing] Alaska Fisheries Science Center (AFSC) 

7600 Sand Point Way NE
Seattle, WA 98115
USA 
[Picture missing] 
 
Sheila JJ Heymans 
SAMS 
email: Sheila.heymans@sams.ac.uk 
phone: + 44-1631-559418 
[Picture missing] Scottish Association for Marine Science (SAMS) 
Dunstaffnage Marine Laboratory 

Dunbeg
PA371QA
Scotland 
[Picture missing] 
 
Marta Coll 
CSIC 
email: mcoll@icm.csic.es 
 
 
Isabel Palomera 
CSIC 
email: isabel@icm.csic.es 
 
[Picture missing]
Institut de Ciències del Mar (CSIC) 

Passeig Maritim de la Barceloneta 37-49
08003, Barcelona
Spain 
[Picture missing] 
 
Morgane Travers-Trolet 
IFREMER 
email: morgane.travers@ifremer.fr 
phone: +33 (0)3 21 99 50 65 
[Picture missing] Institut Français de Recherche pour l'Exploitation de la Mer (IFREMER) 
Centre Manche-Mer du Nord 

150 quai Gambetta
BP 699
62321 Boulogne-sur-Mer Cedex
France 
[Picture missing] 
 
Ibrahima Diallo 
CNSHB 
email: idiallo@cnshb.org 
 
[Picture missing] Centre National des Sciences Halieutiques de Boussoura (CNSHB) 

814, Rue MA500,
Corniche sud Madina,
Conakry
République de Guinée 
[Picture missing] 
 
Didier Jouffre 
IRD 
email: didier.jouffre@ird.fr 
 
[Picture missing] Institut de Recherche pour le Développement (IRD) 
US Osiris 

IRD
Centre de Bel-Air,
BP 1386 Dakar
Senegal 

 
Jesus Morales 
Moreno 
email: jmorales@cica.es 
 

 
Oscar Moreno 
Moreno 
email:oscar.moreno@juntadeandalucia.es 
 
  Moreno (Moreno) 
Centro “Agua del Pino” 

P.O. Box 104.
21071 Huelva
Spain 
[Picture missing] 
 
Frida Ben Rais Lasram 
INAT 
email: frida.lasram@gmail.com 
phone: +216 71 28 71 10 
[Picture missing] 
 
Tarek Hattab 
INAT 
email: hattab.tarek@gmail.com 
phone: +216 71 28 71 10 
[Picture missing] National Agronomic Institute of Tunisia (INAT)
UR03AGRO1 Aquatic Resources & Ecosystems Laboratory 

43 av. Charles Nicolle
1082 Tunis
Tunisia 
[Picture missing] 
 
Daniela BANARU 
Aix-Marseille Université
email: daniela.banaru@univ-amu.fr
phone: +33 4 91 82 91 20 
Tristan Rouyer
Ifremer, Station de Sète
email: Tristan.Rouyer@ifremer.fr
 

Aix-Marseille Université
Mediterranean Institute of Oceanography (MIO)
CNRS/INSU, MIO  UMR 7294

Campus de Luminy
Case 901
13288 Marseille Cedex 09
France

 

 


UMR 212 EME
IFREMER, Station de Sète
Av. Jean Monnet
BP 171 34203 Sète Cedex
France

[Picture missing] 
 
Jorge Tam 
IMARPE 
email: jtam@imarpe.pe 
phone: +511 6250835 
[Picture missing] 
 
Ricardo Oliveros 
IMARPE 
email: roliveros@imarpe.pe 
phone: +511 6250835 
Arnaud Bertrand
IRD - Station de Sète
email: arnaud.bertrand@ird.fr

[Picture missing]

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Peruvian Marine Research Institute (IMARPE) (IMARPE) 

Esq. Gamarra y Gral.
Valle s/n La Punta
Apdo. 22, Lima
Perú 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


UMR 212 EME
IRD, Station de Sète
Av. Jean Monnet
BP 171 34203 Sète Cedex
France

[Picture missing] 
 
Sergio Neira 
UDEC 
email: seneira@udec.cl 
 
[Picture missing] Universidad de Concepción (UDEC) 

Víctor Lamas 1290
Casilla 160-C
Concepción, Octava Región
Chile 
[Picture missing] 
 
Chiara Piroddi 
UBC 
email: c.piroddi@fisheries.ubc.ca 
phone: +1 604 822 1639 
University of British Columbia (UBC) (UBC) 
Fisheries Centre 

c/o Fisheries Centre at AERL Building
2202 Main Mall
V6T1Z4 Vancouver BC
Canada 
[Picture missing] 
 
Julia Blanchard 
Cefas 
email: Julia.Blanchard@cefas.co.uk 
 
[Picture missing] 
 
Steven Mackinson 
Cefas 
email: steve.mackinson@cefas.co.uk 
 
[Picture missing] Centre for Environment, Fisheries and Aquaculture Science (Cefas) 

Pakefield Road
Lowestoft
Suffolk
NR33 0HT
United Kingdom 
[Picture missing] 
 
Khairdine ould Mohamed Abdallahi 
IMROP 
email: khairntini@yahoo.fr 
 
[Picture missing] 
 
Pierre Labrosse 
IMROP 
email: labrossep@imrop.mr 
 
[Picture missing] Oceanographic and Fisheries Mauritanian Research Institute (IMROP) 

BP 22 IMROP
Nouadhibou
Mauritania 
[Picture missing] 
 
Konstantinos Tsagarakis
HCMR 
email: kontsag@hcmr.gr 
phone: +30 210 98 56 702 
[Picture missing] Institute of Marine Biological Resources (HCMR) 
Hellenic Centre for Marine Research 

Agios Kosmas
166 10 Elliniko
Athens
Greece 
 
 
Christopher Lynam 
Cefas 
email: chris.lynam@cefas.co.uk 
 
[Picture missing] Centre for Environment, Fisheries and Aquaculture Science (Cefas) 

Pakefield Road
Lowestoft
Suffolk
NR33 0HT
United Kingdom 
[Picture missing] 
 
Julia Blanchard 
Cefas 
email: Julia.Blanchard@cefas.co.uk 
 
[Picture missing] 
 
Steven Mackinson 
Cefas 
email: steve.mackinson@cefas.co.uk 
 
[Picture missing] 
 
Fatima Borges 
IPMA
email: mfborges@ipma.pt 
 
[Picture missing] 
 
Hugo Mendes
IPMA
email: hmendes@ipma.pt 
 

Instituto Português do Mar e da Atmosfera (IPMA)

Rua C do Aeroporto

1749-077 Lisboa

Portugal 

[Picture missing] 
 
Leigh Gurney 
Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Department, UBC, Canada
email: leighgurney@gmail.com
phone: +39 331 334 0371 
[Picture missing] Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Department, UBC, Canada
Joint Research Centre, IES, GEM Unit 

Via E. Fermi
Ispra
21027, VA
Italy 
 
 
Patroba Patrick Matiku 
TAFIRI 
email: patrobamatiku@gmail.com 
 
[Picture missing] Tanzania Fisheries Research Institute (TAFIRI) (TAFIRI) 
Dar Es Salaam Centre 

P.O. Box 78850
Dar Es Salaam
Tanzania 
 
 
Robert Kayanda 
TAFIRI 
email: bobkayanda@yahoo.com 
 
[Picture missing] Tanzania Fisheries Research Institute (TAFIRI) (TAFIRI) 
Mwanza Centre 

P.O. Box 475
Dar Es Salaam
Tanzania 
 
 
Semvua. I. Mzighani 
TAFIRI 
email: mzighani@yahoo.com 
 
[Picture missing] Tanzania Fisheries Research Institute (TAFIRI) (TAFIRI) 

P.O. Box 9750
Dar Es Salaam
Tanzania 
 
 
Souad Kifani 
INRH 
email: Kifani@inrh.org.ma 
 
 
 
Hicham Masski 
INRH 
email: hmasski@inrh.org.ma 
 
[Picture missing] Institut National de Recherche Halieutique (INRH) 
Fisheries Research Department 

2, Rue de Tiznit
Casablanca
Maroc 
[Picture missing] 
 
Alida Bundy 
DFO 
email: bundya@mar.dfo-mpo.gc.ca 
phone: + 902 426 8353 
[Picture missing] Bedford Institute of Oceanography (DFO) 
Fisheries and Oceans 

Bedford Institute of Oceanography
PO Box 1006
Dartmouth, NS B2Y 4A2
Canada. 
 
 
Djiga Thiao 
ISRA 
email: d_thiao@yahoo.fr 
 
  Institut Sénégalais de Recherches Agricoles (ISRA) 
CRODT 

BP 2241
Dakar
Senegal 
[Picture missing] 
 
Didier Jouffre 
IRD 
email: didier.jouffre@ird.fr 
 
[Picture missing] Institut de Recherche pour le Développement (IRD) 
US Osiris 

IRD
Centre de Bel-Air,
BP 1386 Dakar
Senegal 
[Picture missing] 
 
Maria A.Gasalla 
LabPesq 
email: mgasalla@usp.br 
phone: +55 11 30916549 
[Picture missing] University of São Paulo (LabPesq) 
Oceanographic Institute, Department of Biological Oceanography 

Fisheries Ecosystem Laboratory (LabPesq)
Oceanographic Institute
University of São Paulo
Praça do Oceanográfico, 191
Cidade Universitária
05508-120 São Paulo, SP
Brazil 
[Picture missing] 
 
Jason Link 
NOAA 
email: jason.link@noaa.gov 
phone: 508-495-2340 
Scott Large
NOAA Affiliate
email: scott.large@noaa.gov
 
[Picture missing] National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) 
National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS), Northeast Fisheries Science Center (NEFSC) 

166 Water St.
Woods Hole
MA USA 
 
Kristin Marshall
NOAA 
email: kristin.marshall@noaa.gov
Isaac Kaplan
NOAA 
email: isaac.kaplan@noaa.gov
Jameal Samhouri
NOAA 
email: jameal.samhouri@noaa.gov
Conservation Biology Division
Northwest Fishery Science Center
NOAA National Marine Fisheries Service
2725 Montlake Blvd E
Seattle, WA 98112
[Picture missing] 
 
Sheila Heymans 
SAMS 
email: sheila.heymans@sams.ac.uk 
phone: +44 1631 559418 
[Picture missing] Scottish Marine Institute (SAMS) 
Scottish Association for Marine Science 

Oban, Argyll
PA371QA
United Kingdom 
 
 
Jennifer Boldt 
DFO 
email: Jennifer.Boldt@dfo-mpo.gc.ca 
 
 
Caihong Fu 
DFO 
email: Caihong.Fu@dfo-mpo.gc.ca 
 
 
Brenda Waddell 
DFO 
email: brenda.waddell@dfo-mpo.gc.ca 
 
 
 
Ian Perry 
DFO 
email: ian.perry@dfo-mpo.gc.ca 
 
[Picture missing] Fisheries & Oceans Canada (DFO) 
Pacific Biological Station 

3190 Hammond Bay Road,
Nanaimo, B.C. V9T 6N7
Canada 

Other experts

 
 

Kristin kleisner
Postdoctoral Researcher
Sea Around Us Project
email: k.kleisner@fisheries.ubc.ca
 

Sea Around Us Project
Fisheries Centre
The University of British Columbia
332-2202 Main Mall Vancouver, B.C., Canada V6T 1Z4

 
 

Laure Velez
IRD
email: laure.velez@hotmail.com
 

IRD
UMR EME 212
Avenue Jean Monnet, BP 171, Sete Cedex, France



[Picture missing]

Philippe Cury
IRD
email: philippe.cury@ird.fr
 

IRD
UMR EME 212
Avenue Jean Monnet, BP 171, Sete Cedex, France



[Picture missing]

Sylvain Bonhommeau
IRD
email: sylvain.bonhommeau@ifremer.fr
 

[Picture missing] Institut Français de Recherche pour l'Exploitation de la Mer (IFREMER) 
Département EMH (Ecologie et Modèles pour l'Halieutique) 

IFREMER,
B.P. 21105
44311 Nantes Cedex 03,
France 



 
 

Kate Brooks
KAL
email: kate@kalanalysis.com.au
 

KAL Analysis,
Australia



 
 

Astrid Jarre
UCT
email: ajarre@gmail.com
 

Ma-Re,
South Africa



 
 

Gabriel Reygondeau
CNRS LOV
email: gabriel.reygondeau@gmail.com
 

CNRS LOV,
Villefrance sur mer,
France



 
 

Keith Sainsbury
SainSolutions
email: ksainsbury@netspace.net.au
 

SainSolutions,
Hobart,
Australia



 
 

Hervé Demarcq
email: demarcq@ird.fr
 

Queen's University Belfast,
Northern Ireland

 

Web designers



 
 

Pierre Series
email: pierre_serries@yahoo.fr
 



 
 

Pascal Cauquil
email: pascal.cauquil@ird.fr
 



 
 

Elias Buisson
email: elias_buisson@yahoo.fr
 



 
 

Pierre Lopez
email: pierre.lopez@ird.fr